top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucy Denning

SKILLS

While working at revival runway I got to experience a wide variety of sides of the creative industry. I was out in an environment where creativity could flourish and everyone’s ideas were heard. To secure the placement I reached out to Niki Bruce asking if I could complete some of my work placement hours at Revival Runway, and listed some of my goals as well as my career objectives.

My role at Revival Runway was to creative direct an editorial shoot for the company’s website and social media platforms. As one of my career objectives was to be a creative director, this was very exciting!

The skills that were needed to creative direct and organise a shoot were much broader than I had imagined, and required me to grow as an individual in terms of being able to be in charge. I am not usually one to tell people what to do and this does not come naturally to me, in this role however, I developed the skills to do so in a professional manner and not feel as though I was being rude. It was all part of the job and there’s always a way to go about things in a nice way.

My organizational skills were also developed while working in this role, as I organised the editorial shoot from start to finish. I sourced a location, photographer, garments, models, hair stylist, makeup artist, and assistants for the shoot. I had to ensure that everybody was on the same page. I met up with the photographer on site a few days before the shoot so that he could check out the lighting and know what he needs to bring to be prepared for the shoot day, we also began to plan shoot spots within the location.

Utilising everyone’s individual skills and talents is another helpful skill that I developed while working at Revival Runway. When working in such a heavily group work based industry, it is important to hone in on exactly what everyone’s strong points are and utilising their skills, this way the shoot will run so much smoother, and the end result will be so much better. This is therefore another skill that I developed in my time at Revival Runway, and is a really important one to take with me when moving forward into more jobs in the creative industry, that will inevitably be group work based. Working as a team is such a beautiful thing.

I had to be able to adapt to the fast-paced and ever-changing environment of shoot life, adapting quickly to major changes was a skill that I needed to develop and I believe I did just that. My makeup artist got Covid the day before my shoot so I got my brushes ready and did the makeup myself. I was worried that by doing the makeup myself it would restrict how much creative direction I could do, but I was able to do both. All with the help and support of the Revival Runway team.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page