top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucy Denning

GOALS & OUTCOMES

I had a number of goals heading into my industry placement. I was able to collect them into the following eight goals which I agreed upon with the team at Revival Runway.


To gain knowledge and first hand experience in creative directing for editorial fashion shoots.

I fully believe that I met this goal during my time at Revival Runway. I got to creative direct my own shoot for the first time, right from the initial stages of the shoot planning, then to the lead up to the shoot day, through the shoot day itself and post-shoot. I have now creative directed a shoot.


To venture out / expend my knowledge and experience in other aspects of photo shoots.

I got the opportunity to be the makeup artist for both Kate and Nick’s shoots, also my own, which I am grateful for because the more experience that I get as a makeup artist the more I grow my skillset and portfolio of looks. Although I am grateful for this experience as a makeup artist, I was really looking to expand my experience to other aspects of a photoshoot during my time at Revival Runway. I do believe that I got this opportunity in the planning meetings leading up to all of our shoots, and also through the whole process of creating my shoot. During our weekly meetings I got to witness the process of two other shoots as well as my own, which was really special. We all had such different ideas and concepts, which made it extra special.


To get more experience in the practicalities and the reality of editorial shoots.

This goal was met without a doubt. I witnessed firsthand the various elements that need to be considered in the lead-up to a shoot, also the practicalities on the day of the shoot. Bringing the garments, clothing racks, makeup, brushes, catering, etc. People canceling and having to find new people, adapting to an ever-changing plan, is all part of the reality of a shoot.


To create the content that I can use for CV's, portfolios and social media content.

Industry placement at Revival Runway definitely generated so much content for me to use for CV’s, portfolios and social media content. Whether that be for makeup, styling or creative direction. I am not short of content to post.


To gain knowledge on the administrative side of creative work, not just the 'fun stuff'.

This goal was met from the get-go. We got right into the planning and logistics of the shoot from day one, in our first meeting. As I touched on before, I got to witness the various elements that need to be considered and met in the lead-up to the shoot, on the day of the shoot and post-shoot. Both when being in charge and leading a shot, and also for somebody else’s shoot.


To experience the full process of an editorial shoot, start to finish.

I absolutely met this goal. I could not have asked for more, I got so much experience during my time at Revival Runway. I got to experience the full process of an editorial shoot, three times over, Kate’s shoot, Nick’s shoot, and my own shoot.


To gain skills and experience to deal with problem resolution / solving, under pressure.

There were problems encountered when planning my shoot. At first, I couldn't source a photographer, so I reached out to a handful of photographers that had worked with Revival Runway in the past and was eventually able to source a photographer. My makeup artist tested positive for Covid the day before my shoot so I ended up doing the makeup myself. On the day of the shoot, it was raining on and off throughout the shoot so with the help of my shoot team we got the outdoor shots when we could, and utilised the rest of the time taking photos indoors in the gorgeous Door Gallery Cafe.


To collaborate in a team environment and experience how an idea grows through bouncing ideas off of each other.

I absolutely got to collaborate loads with other creatives, which is my favourite thing. Having creative control over a shoot also comes with the opportunity to include the ideas of so many others, the models knew how to pose and flourished in front of the camera. The shoot concept of ‘New Romantics’ left a lot of room for fun ideas and left such creative space for ideas. It was also so fun to collaborate during the team meetings with Nick, Kate, Sofie, and Niki.


I believe I contributed a nice amount to my placement hosts of Revival Runway. The photos from my shoot will be used on their social medias and website. My shoot was the first shoot that they had done in Geelong too, which might broaden their location range and maybe even introduce them to a broader market demographic. I will also be doing a write-up on my shoot which can be accessed via their social medias and included on their website.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page